All-round India crush South Africa by 203 runs to take a 1-0 lead in the series

Picture Courstey: NDTV Sports

The Indian Cricket Team continued their domination in World Test Championship as they defeated South Africa by 203 runs on the 5th and final day of the 1st Test match played at Vizag on Sunday.

It was a perfect start for the Indian team as Ravichandran Ashwin got the wicket of Theunis de Bryun with a beauty of a delivery. Mohammed Shami produced a beauty to dismiss Temba Bavuma at ball which kept low. Faf du Plessis and Aiden Markram tried to steady the South Africa innings adding 32 runs for the 4th wicket. Mohammed Shami wreaked havoc as he dismissed Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock in quick succession. Ravindra Jadeja got Markram with a brilliant return catch, Vernon Philander and Keshav Maharaj in the same over. Muthuswamy and Dane Piedt frustrated the Indian bowlers with some lovely strokes. South Africa went into the lunch break at 117 for 8.

After the lunch break, Piedt and Muthuswamy continued to frustrate the Indian bowling line up. Piedt reached his fifty off 86 balls. Mohammed Shami provided breakthrough for India dismissing Piedt for 56. Muthuswamy and Piedt added 91 runs for the 9th wicket. Kagiso Rabada came to the crease and scored 18 off 19 balls. Mohammed Shami dismissed Rabada to bowl out South Africa for 191. Shami was brilliant with the ball in the 2nd innings taking 5 for 35, Ravindra Jadeja 4 for 87 and Ashwin took 1 wicket.

Rohit Sharma for his 176 and 127 as a opener was awarded the man of the match. It was a team performance as the conditions were good for batting. The batsmen did a brilliant job in the first innings for India as Rohit Sharma and Mayank Agarwal added 317 runs for the 1st wicket. Despite de Kock and Dean Elgar brilliance, India took a lead of 71 runs.

In the second innings again Rohit Sharma scored a quick fire 127 and contributions from Pujara, Virat Kohli and Rahane helped India set a daunting target of 395 runs to win. Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja did most of the damage and helped India register 203 runs win. India move to 160 points in the ICC Test Championship points table.

India 502 for 7 d in 136 overs ( Mayank Agarwal 215, Rohit Sharma 176, Keshav Maharaj 3/189) and 323 for 4 d in 67 overs ( Rohit Sharma 127, Cheteshwar Pujara 81, Keshav Maharaj 2/129) beat South Africa 431 in 131.2 overs (Dean Elgar 160, Quinton de Kock 111 , Ravichandran Ashwin 7/145, Ravindra Jadeja 2/116) and 191 in 63.5 overs (Piedt 56, Muthuswamy 49*, Mohammed Shami 5/35, Ravindra Jadeja 4/87) by 203 runs.

India takes a 1-0 lead in the 3 match Test series. The 2nd Test match will be played at MCA Stadium, Pune from 10th October.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here