All you need to know about ICC Men’s T20 World Cup qualifiers 2019

Picture Courtesy: ICC

The stage is set as the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup qualifiers is about to start from 18th October 2019 to be played across two cities of UAE namely Dubai and Abu Dhabi. It will go on till 2nd November. Each team will be play each other once in the Group.

There are two groups which has 7 teams each. Group A consists of Scotland, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Namibia, Singapore, Kenya and Bermuda. The table topper of each group seals one qualification spot for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 as well as semi-finals berth in the qualifying tournament.

The six qualifiers in the tournament will join Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in the first round of World to be played in two groups with the top two joining Australia, India, Pakistan, England, South Africa, New Zealand and Afghanistan in the Super 12 stage.
Group B comprises of United Arab Emirates, Ireland, Oman, Hong Kong, Canada, Jersey and Nigeria. It promises to be an exciting tournament. Ireland are the favourites to clinch the top spot and qualify for the Men’s World T20 2020.

Scotland, Netherlands will fight it out in Group A to gain the spot in the ICC World T20 2020. The other teams in the group will look to showcase their talent to the world and hope to spring a surprise on tournament favourites.

Sri Lanka and Bangladesh could not qualify directly for the prestigious tournament as they finished outside the top 8. Nigeria would be taking part in qualifying for the first time and would be looking to make an impact on tournament.

Hong Kong is another impressive team which has good hitters and impressive bowlers. They have shown in the past about what they can do. Let’s hope that the audience can witness great cricket and see their respective nations qualify for the ICC World T20 2020 by gaining the top spot in each group.

Group A
Papua New Guinea

Group B
United Arab Emirates
Hong Kong


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here