All you need to know about Under 19 World Cups

Picture Courtsey: Hindustan Times

The 13th edition is set to start in South Africa from 17th January to 9th February 2020. It promises to be an exciting tournament where future stars set to represent their country at Under 19 level and win laurels.

This tournament has provided many stars which have played for the senior team which includes Prithvi Shaw, Kagiso Rabada, Kuldeep Yadav, Kane Williamson, Virat Kohli and many other top-quality players.

In the 2020 edition of World Cup, there 4 groups with 4 teams in each of them. Group A consists of defending Champions India, first timers Japan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka. Each group will see top two teams qualify for the knockout stage.

Group B comprise of runners up of 2018 Australia, England, first timer Nigeria and West Indies. In Group C, Bangladesh, Pakistan, first timers Scotland and Zimbabwe will take part in the tournament. The final Group comprise of Afghanistan, first timer Canada, South Africa and United Arab Emirates. The Group stage will start from 17th January and will go till 25th January.

After the league stage gets over, the Super League quarterfinals will start from 28th January and finish on 31st January. It promises to be an exciting tournament. India have won the Under 19 World Cups four times, Australia thrice, Pakistan and England twice, South Africa and West Indies once each.

Here we look at the Journey of the Under 19 World Cups

S NoYearHostsWinnerRunners UpFinal VenueMargin
1.1988AustraliaAustraliaPakistanAdelaideAustralia won by 5 wickets
2.1998South AfricaEnglandNew ZealandJohannesburgEngland won by 7 wickets
3.2000Sri LankaIndiaSri LankaColomboIndia won by 6 wickets
42002New ZealandAustraliaSouth AfricaLincolnAustralia won by 7 wickets
52004BangladeshPakistanWest IndiesDhakaPakistan won by 25 runs
  6.2006Sri LankaPakistanIndiaColomboPakistan won by 38 runs
 7.2008MalaysiaIndiaSouth AfricaPuchongIndia won by 12 runs via DL method


8.2010New ZealandAustraliaPakistanLincolnAustralia won by 25 runs


9.2012AustraliaIndiaAustraliaTownsvilleIndia won by 6 wickets
10.2014United Arab EmiratesSouth AfricaPakistanDubaiSouth Africa won by 6 wickets


11.2016BangladeshWest IndiesIndiaDhakaWest Indies won by 5 wickets
12.2018New ZealandIndiaAustraliaMount MaunganuiIndia won by 8 wickets






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here