Australian women crush Sri Lanka by 9 wickets to seal the series

Picture Courstey: WSA news

Australian women team produced another dominating display to beat Sri Lanka by 9 wickets in the 2nd T20I played at North Sydney Oval on Monday.

Sri Lankan captain Chamari Atthapathu won the toss and decided to bat first. The decision did not pay off as Yasoda Mendis was dismissed in very first over itself. Australian bowlers kept it tight and never allowed Sri Lankan batters to score runs easily. At the end of 6 overs, Sri Lankan women were 22 for 2.

After the powerplay, the Australian bowlers were spot on. Sri Lankan captain who scored 113 in the first match was run out by Varhem for 16. Siriwardene was the top scorer for Sri Lanka with 19 runs. In the end, Kanchana hit a quickfire 16 off 11 balls. Sri Lankan women were able to score just 84 for 8 in 20 overs. Ellyse Perry was the pick of bowlers for Australia with 2 for 21, Meghan Schutt, Vlamenick, Carey, Wareham took 1 wicket each.

Chasing the modest total of 85 runs to win, Beth Mooney and Alyssa Healy got the hosts off to a flying start putting on 38 runs in 4.2 overs. Prabodhani got the wicket of Healy for 21. Beth Mooney and Burns took the attack to Sri Lankan bowlers. At the end of 6 overs, Australian women were 49 for 1.

After the power play overs, Burns and Beth Mooney completed the job for the Australian team. Australian women’s team won the match by 9 wickets with 62 balls to spare. It was a dominating performance by the Australian team who showed their class in the 1st T20I.

Australian women 87 for 1 in 9.4 overs ( Beth Mooney 28*, Burns 30*, Prabodhani 1/12) beat Sri Lankan women 84 for 8 in 20 overs ( Siriwardene 19, Ellyse Perry 2/21) by 9 wickets.

The third and final T20I match of the series will be played on 2nd October at North Sydney Oval.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here