BBL 9: Melbourne Stars and Hobart Hurricanes register easy wins in their opening matches

Picture Courtsey: Hindustan

Melbourne Stars and Hobart Hurricanes registered easy wins over their opponents in double header on Friday.

Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Sixers

Hobart Hurricanes started their 2019 BBL campaign with an easy win over Sydney Sixers played at Alice Springs on Friday.

Hobart Hurricanes Ben McDermott won the toss and decided to bat first. Caleb Jewell and Darcy Short began the innings on a steady note adding 26 runs for the opening wicket. Sean Abbott got the breakthrough for Sydney Sixers dismissing Jewell for 4. At the end of six overs, Hobart Hurricanes were 44 for 1.

After the power play overs, Sydney Sixers kept a tight line and length on the Hobart Hurricanes batsmen. Apart from picking wickets at regular intervals, Sixers bowlers fielded brilliantly. Darcy Short was the only Hobart Hurricanes batsman to provide some resistance. He reached his fifty off 38 balls and dismissed for 51. Sydney Sixers restricted Hobart Hurricanes to just 129 for 9 in 20 overs. Tom Curran, Manetiti and Dwarhusis took 2 wickets each, Sean Abbott was the pick of bowlers with 3 for 20 in 4 overs.

Chasing 130 runs to win the match, Daniel Hughes was run out cheaply for 2. Joshua Phillip and James Vince steadied the innings for Sydney Sixers. At the end of six overs, Sydney Sixers were 47 for 1.

After the power play overs, Qais Ahmed produced a brilliant spell taking 4 for 12 in 4 overs to help Hobart Hurricanes register 25 runs win.

Hobart Hurricanes 129 for 9 in 20 overs ( Darcy Short 51, Sean Abbott 3/20) beat Sydney Sixers 104 in 18.5 overs ( Joshua Phillipe 24, Qais Ahmed 4/12) by 25 runs.

Melbourne Stars vs. Brisbane Heats

Melbourne Stars began their 2019 campaign on a resounding note beating Brisbane Heats by 22 runs played at Cararra Oval on Friday.

Brisbane Heats captain Chris Lynn won the toss and decided to field first. The decision paid off for Brisbane as they bowled tight line and lengths not allowing Melbourne Stars batsmen to score runs. At the end of six overs, Melbourne Stars were 42 for 2.

After being picked for 10.75 Crores by Kings XI Punjab for 2020 IPL, Melbourne Stars captain Glenn Maxwell led from the front with great hitting which put Brisbane Heat bowlers under pressure. Maxwell reached his fifty off just 23 balls. He made 83 off 39 balls with 7 fours and 5 sixes. Maxwell had the most of strike with Adam Zampa. He and Zampa added 47 runs for the 7th wicket. Melbourne Stars posted 167 for 7 in 20 overs.

In reply to 168 runs to win, Tom Banton and Max Bryant got Brisbane Heats off to a decent start adding 29 runs for the opening wicket. Banton played with positive intent and took on Melbourne Stars bowling. The young England wicket-keeper batsman smashed Melbourne Stars bowlers. At the end of six overs, Brisbane Heats were 57 for 1.

Tom Banton reached his fifty off 29 balls. After the fall of Tom Banton wicket, Melbourne Stars bowlers picked wickets at regular intervals and restricted Brisbane Heats to 145 for 8.

Melbourne Stars 167 for 7 in 20 overs (Glenn Maxwell 83, Zahir Khan 1/29) beat Brisbane Heats 145 for 8 in 20 overs ( Tom Banton 64, Matt Renshaw 39, Adam Zampa 3/30) by 22 runs.

Sydney Thunder is at the top of points table so far winning 2 matches. There will be 2 matches as Sydney Thunder will face Adelaide Striker at Manuka Oval, Canberra and Perth Scorchers versus Melbourne Renegades at Optious Stadium, Perth.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here