BCB announces Asia XI and World XI squads for two T20I matches

Picture Courtsey: Times of India

The Bangladeshi Cricket Board have announced Asia XI and World XI squads for the two T20I charity matches to be played in Dhaka on 18th and 21st March which is a part of nationwide celebrations to mark the birth centenary of Sheikh Mujibur Rehman known as the father of the nation.

In the Asia XI squad, there are six Indians included in 15-man squad. The Indian captain Virat Kohli and KL Rahul will take part in only match while Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant have been included for both matches.

Lasith Malinga, Thisara Perera are the two players from Sri Lanka. Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim and Tamim Iqbal, Mustafizur Rahman and Mahmudllah are the five players included from Bangladesh. Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman have been included from Afghanistan. Sandeep Lammichhane is only player from Nepal to be included in the 15.

The notables names missing are Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni. “We have already received four names from India,” Hassan said. “We haven’t signed contracts but Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan and Mohammed Shami are supposed to come. They have said KL Rahul and Virat Kohli will play one game each, but that hasn’t been finalised.

Tentative squads

Asia XI: KL Rahul ( one match)  Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli ( subject to confirmation) , Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mahmudullah

The World XI includes some of the top names which include Faf du Plessis who has been named as captain. Chris Gayle, Nicolas Pooran Kieron Pollard, Sheldon Cottrell are the four players included from West Indies. Alex Hales, Jonny Bairstow are two players from England. Lungi Ngidi and Faf du Plessis two from South Africa.

Brendon Taylor from Zimbabwe, Andrew Tye from Australia and Mitchell McClenaghan from New Zealand are other players included.

World XI squad

Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis (C), Nicolas Pooran, Brendon Taylor, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here