David Warner appointed captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad for IPL 2020

Picture Courtesy: Hindustan Times

The explosive left-handed Australian batsman David Warner was appointed as the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad for IPL 2020 replacing Kane Williamson.

Williamson was named as the captain of SRH franchise in 2018 and 2019 as David Warner was banned from international cricket due to involvement in the ball tampering controversy that took place in Cape Town in March 2018.  Williamson led SRH to the finals in 2018 losing to Chennai Super Kings and was leading runs scorer during that season with 735 runs. Last year, SRH lost to Delhi capitals in the eliminator in a thrilling encounter.

David Warner led SRH franchise between 2015 and 2017. In the 2016 edition, Warner led them to their maiden IPL title defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore. The explosive left-handed opener has led in 45 matches during IPL winning 26 matches.

In the 2019 edition of IPL, Warner showed immense hunger with 692 runs from 12 matches (12 innings) with 1 century and 8 half-centuries. He and Jonny Bairstow gave SRH flying starts which put opposition bowlers under pressure.

Despite having a poor Ashes series in England, Warner showed hunger to score runs in the 2 match Test series against Pakistan where he scored his career best score of 335*.

Warner showed great hitting skills in the 3rd T20I match at Cape Town against South Africa played on 25th February . He scored 57 off 37 balls and laid a strong foundation adding 120 runs for opening wicket. With the likes of Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and other strong players in the squad for this season, Warner would be hoping to lead SRH franchise with the bat and with captaincy.

With 692 runs, Warner was awarded the orange cap. He already was given the orange cap during the 2015 season where he scored 562 runs from 14 matches. SRH fans would be hoping to see him in sensational form during IPL 2020. SRH will begin IPL 2020 against Mumbai Indians on 1st April.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here