David Warner sensational century leads Australia to a record win in the 1st T20I over Sri Lanka

Picture Courtsey: Cricket Australia

Australia started the home season with a record 134 run win in the first T20I match played at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide on Sunday. After being invited to bat, Warner maiden T20I century, Finch and Maxwell cameos helped Australia post a massive total and then defend the target with ease.

Sri Lankan captain Lasith Malinga won the toss and decided to field first. Playing his first T20I match after the ban David Warner struggled initially but Aaron Finch took on the Sri Lankan bowlers. It was an amazing start by both Australia openers as they scored 57 runs in the first 6 overs.

After the power play overs, Warner and Aaron Finch took on the Sri Lankan spinners Lakshan Sandkan and Hasaranga. The Australian captain was severe and reached his fifty off 31 balls. In the same over Warner too completed his fifty with a six off 28 balls. Both blasted away against Sri Lankan bowlers. After hitting a boundary, Finch was dismissed by Sandkan for a brilliant 64 off 36 balls. Australian openers added 122 runs in 12.5 overs. Glenn Maxwell was promoted to number 3 and joined in the party with reverse switch shots which made life tough for Sri Lankan bowlers.

Maxwell reached his fifty off just 21 balls and continued power hitting along with David Warner. In the final over Maxwell was dismissed by Shanaka for 62 off 28 balls with 7 fours and 3 sixes. Maxwell and Warner added 107 runs for the 2nd wicket. David Warner completed his maiden century in T20I format with a single off the last ball. Australia posted a massive total of 233 for 2 in 20 overs. Kasun Rajitha registered the worst bowling figures in T20I cricket.

Chasing down the target of 234 runs to win, the Sri Lankan team were never in the chase and were reduced to 13 for 3 with Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilka and Bhanuka Rajapaksa were dismissed cheaply. Fernando and Kusal Perera tried to steady the Sri Lankan innings and took them to 29 for 3 at the end of 6 overs.

After the power play overs, the Australian bowlers kept picking wickets and restricted Sri Lanka to 99 for 9. Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Kane Richardson provided the breakthroughs for Australia and continued to do till the end. Australia recorded their highest win by 134 runs to take a 1-0 lead in the series.

Australia 233 for 2 in 20 overs (David Warner 100*, Finch 64, Maxwell 62, Sandkan 1/41) beat Sri Lanka 99 for 9 in 20 overs ( Shanaka 17, Kusal Perera 16, Mitchell Starc 2/18, Adam Zampa 3/14) by 134 runs.

For his brilliant 100 not out, Warner was awarded the man of the match. The second T20I match will be played at Gabba, Brisbane on 30th October in a Day/Night affair.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here