Impressive India wins the series with 30 run win over Bangladesh in third T20I

Picture Courtesy: Times Now

The Indian Cricket Team registered a 30-run win over Bangladesh in the third and deciding T20I match played at VCA Stadium Jamtha, Nagpur played on Sunday.

Bangladesh captain Mahmudllah won the toss and decided to bowl first. It was not an ideal start for India as they lost an early wicket of Rohit Sharma for 2. Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul played with positive intent which put Bangladesh bowlers under some pressure. At the stroke of power play overs, Dhawan tried to play a big shot and was dismissed by Shaiful Islam for 19. At the end of 6 overs, India were 41 for 2.

Shreyas Iyer was dropped by for 0 and Bangladesh had to pay for that drop. It was a good batting display by KL Rahul and Iyer who created pressure on Bangladeshi bowlers. Rahul was impressive with stroke play and reached his fifty off 33 balls. As things looked good for India, Al-Amin Hossain got the breakthrough for Bangladeshi getting the wicket of well-set Rahul for 52. Rahul and Iyer added 59 runs for the 3rd wicket.

Iyer hit 3 successive sixes off Afif Hossain bowling which put Bangladesh bowlers under immense pressure. He reached his fifty off 27 balls. Risbabh Pant failed again he scored just 6 runs. Iyer was finally dismissed for a brilliant 62 off 33 balls with 3 fours and 5 sixes. Manish Pandey came to the crease and scored quickfire 22 from 13 balls. Pandey and Dube added 30 unbeaten runs helping India post 174 for 5 in 20 overs.

Chasing 175 runs to win, it was an impressive start for the Indian team as Deepak Chahar dismissed Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar in successive deliveries. Bangladesh were 33 for 2 at the end of 6 overs.

Mohammad Naim played with positive intent against the Indian spinners with a wet ball which put Indian bowlers under pressure. Mithun also gave him full support to Naim. The debutant Naim reached his fifty off 34 balls and continued to make the batting look easy. With the things slipping out of India’s hand, Deepak Chahar provided the breakthrough getting the wicket of Mithun for 27. Mithun and Naim added 98 runs for the 3rd wicket.

Shivam Dube got the big wicket of Mushfiqur Rahim to put India back into the game. Again, when things looked dangerous for India, Dube struck twice in successive balls getting wicket of Mohammad Naim and Afif Hossain. Deepak Chahar got an hattrick by dismissing Shafiul Islam off the last ball off 18th over. Chahar got the wickets of Mustafizur Rahman and Aminul Islam to bowl out Bangladesh for 144 in 19.2 overs.

Deepak Chahar was awarded the man of the man for his brilliance 6 for 7 and the man of the series.

India 174 for 5 in 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 62, KL Rahul 52, Soumya Sarkar 2/29, Shafiul Islam 2/32) beat Bangladesh 144 in 19.2 overs (Mohammad Naim 81, Deepak Chahar 6/7, Shivam Dube 3/30) by 30 runs.

India wins the 3 match T20I series by 2-1. It was an impressive performance by Men in Blue who looked won series after losing the first one.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here