India announces T20I and Test squad to face Bangladesh

Picture Courstey: Jan Satta

The Board of Cricket Control for India have announced the T20I and Test squads to face Bangladesh. India will start their series against Bangladesh in a 3 match T20I series starting from 3rd November.

Virat Kohli who has been nonstop cricket since March this year, will be rested for the T20I series. Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul will be three openers.

Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer retain their places in the squad. Sanju Samson has been rewarded for his superb performances in domestic circuit would be making a comeback in T20I squad after a gap of 4 years.  Rishabh Pant whose performance has been under the scanner is included.

The explosive left-handed batsman Shivam Dube receives maiden call to national Team. He replaces Hardik Pandya who has been ruled for quite some time. In the all-round department, Krunal Pandya, Shivam Dube have been included.

In the pace bowling department, Shardul Thakur makes a comeback into the national squad. Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed have been included. Yuzvendra Chahal also returns to T20I squad after not featuring in the series against West Indies and South Africa. Rahul Chahar retains his place in the T20I squad.

In the last T20I series against South Africa, India drew 1-1 with the first one at Dharamshala washed out due to rain. India won the 2nd T20I by 7 wickets at Mohali and then was outplayed by 9 wickets in the third T20I at Bangalore.

The first T20I will be played at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, New Delhi on 3rd November, followed by 7th November at Rajkot and final T20I to be played on 11th November at Nagpur.

Indian T20I squad to face Bangladesh

Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Risbabh Pant (WK), Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur.

After the 3 match T20I series, India will take on Bangladesh in a 2 match Test series which is part of the ICC Test Championships. Under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, the Indian Cricket Team whitewashed South Africa by 3-0 and are at the top of points table with 240.

In the Test squad, Kuldeep Yadav replaces Shahbaz Nadeem. Apart from that the Indian Cricket Board have announced an unchanged Test side. Nadeem replaced Kuldeep in 3rd Test match and took 4 wickets in match. Shubman Gill also retains his place in the squad.

The first Test match of the series will be played from 14th November at Indore and then the teams will face each other at iconic Eden Gardens, Kolkata from 22nd November 2019.

Indian Test squad to face Bangladesh

Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddiman Saha (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Rishabh Pant


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here