India is the only team to successfully chase 200 plus total 3 times

Picture Courtsey: Daily hunt

By chasing down a massive target of 208 runs during the first T20I played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad on 6th December, Indian Cricket Team has successfully chased down 200 plus totals 3 times.

It was a batting paradise during the first T20I match. After winning the toss, Indian captain Virat Kohli elected to field. Thanks to Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetymer, Kieron Pollard, Jason Holder and Ramdin, West Indies posted a massive target of 207.

Chasing down the target of 208 runs to win, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul got the team off to a quickfire start adding 30 runs in 3.2 overs. Kohli came to the crease and struggled for first few balls. Rahul timed the ball with precision and made the batting look easy. After settling in, Kohli looked a different batsman and smashed the West Indies bowlers. Rahul was dismissed for 62 off 36 balls and added 100 runs for the 2nd wicket.

Pant came to the crease and scored 18 off 9 balls. Kohli made the batting look easy and hit the winning runs to help India win the match by 6 wickets. The Indian captain remained not out on 94 which was his highest score in T20I cricket.

India have played so far 124 T20I matches with 77 wins and 43 losses including winning the inaugural T20I World Cup in 2007.

The previous best highest successful run chases in T20I cricket was against Sri Lanka at PCA Stadium, Mohali on 12th December 2009. Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and decided to bat first. Sangakkara 59, Jayasinghe 38, Angleo Mathews quick fire 26 helped them to post 206 for 5 in 20 overs. In reply, Gambhir and Sehwag laid a strong foundation adding 58 runs for opening wicket. Yuvraj Singh played with positive intent with 60 off 25 balls with 3 fours and 5 sixes to help the Indian team win the match by 6 wickets with 5 balls to spare.

India successfully chased down a massive target of 202 runs against Australia at Rajkot on 10th October 2013. It was an amazing batting display by both teams on a great batting wicket. Indian captain MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to field first. Aaron Finch 89, Nic Maddison 34, Glenn Maxwell 27 helped Australia post 201 for 7 in 20 overs.

India were struggling at 100 for 4 in 12th over. MS Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh unbeaten partnership of 102 for the 5th wicket led the hosts to a stunning 6 wicket win with 2 balls to spare. Yuvraj was named the man of the match for his 77 off 35 balls with 8 fours and 5 sixes.

In the deciding match of T20I series during England tour in 2018, India chased down 199 runs at County Ground, Bristol on 8th July. It was an amazing display of batting by both teams on that day. Indian captain Kohli won the toss and decided to field first. A superb opening partnership between Jos Buttler and Jason Roy of 94 runs in just 7.5 overs laid the foundation for a massive score. The Indian bowlers made a strong comeback to pick wickets at regular intervals and restricted England to 198 for 9.

Chasing down 199 runs to win, Rohit Sharma was in sensational form remaining 100 not out off 56 balls. Kohli 43 and Hardik Pandya 33* in quick time helped India win the match by 7 wickets with 8 balls to spare. India took the 3-match series 2-1. Rohit was awarded man of the match for his brilliant century.

India chased 198 runs during the 3rd match against Australia in 2016 T20I series. Australian captain Watson won the toss and decided to bat first. A brilliant 124 off 71 helped the hosts post 197 for 5 in 20 overs.

Rohit Sharma 52, Dhawan 26 off 9 balls, Kohli 50 off 36 balls. Despite Yuvraj Singh struggling to score runs, he hit vital shots to help India win the match by 7 wickets on the last ball.

Australia and South Africa have chased down 200 plus totals in T20I cricket twice.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here