India look to level the series at Rajkot

Picture Courtesy: Money Control

After stunned by Bangladesh in the first T20I at Delhi, the Indian Team looks to level the series in the 2nd T20I to be played at SCA Stadium, Rajkot on Thursday.

The Indian batting looked out of order in the first T20I at Delhi. Indian stand in captain Rohit Sharma was dismissed cheaply. Shikhar Dhawan made 41 off 42 but could not kick on to score big runs. Shreyas Iyer got a quick-fire start and failed to capitalize. Pant did not play his natural game and scored just 27 off 26 balls which was not good for Team India. Washington Sundar and Krunal Pandya made 30 quickfire runs in 2 overs which helped Men in Blue post 148 for 6 in 20 overs.

In the bowling department, Yuzvendra Chahal bowled beautifully and troubled the Bangladeshi batsmen. Khaleel Ahmed was impressive in the first 3 overs but went for 4 boundaries which resulted in India’s defeat. Sundar, Krunal Pandya bowled tight line and lengths. Deepak Chahar also bowled decently picking up the first wicket in the 1st over. Dube scored just 1 run in his debut match and look to improve at Rajkot.

There could be a change as Sanju Samson could be included in the playing XI. In the bowling department, Shardul Thakur could be included replacing Khaleel Ahmed.

In the absence of experienced duo of Tamim and Shakib, the Bangladesh Cricket Team displayed great control with bowl to restrict India to 148. Biplob took 2 wickets which halted India’s progress. Despite Al Amin and Shafiul Islam giving away runs, it was impressive performance by the Bangladeshi bowlers.

Soumya Sarkar and Mushfiqur Rahim led the way for Bangladesh adding 60 runs for the 3rd wicket which laid a strong foundation. Rahim scored 4 boundaries in the 19th over and led Bangladesh to a 7-wicket win.

With India’s reputation stake, the Indian team would look to level the series while Bangladesh would look to create history by winning their maiden T20I series.

India’s Probable XI

Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Pant/ Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal

Bangladesh Probable XI

Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Mushfiqur Rahim (WK), Mahmudllah, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Shaiful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Al Amin Hossain.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here