Mayank double steers India into the driver’s seat at the end of day 2

Picture Courstey: Hindustan Times

The Indian Cricket Team ended the 2nd day in a commanding position against South Africa played at ADCA, VDCA Stadium, Vizag on Thursday.

Starting the 2nd day on 202 for 0, Rohit Sharma and Mayank Agarwal continued their aggressive intent putting pressure on the South African bowlers. After putting an excellent display of batting on the 1st day, it was a remarkable day. Rohit Sharma who was promoted to open the innings reached his 150 off 224 balls. Mayank Agarwal also showed great skills with his batting. Keshav Maharaj got the breakthrough for South Africa dismissing Rohit Sharma for a brilliant 176. The Indian openers added a marathon 316 runs. India went into lunch break at 324 for 1.

After the lunch break, Vernon Philander dismissed Cheteshwar Pujara cheaply for 6. Mayank Agarwal was simply sensational with the bat and created pressure on the South African bowling line up. Virat Kohli scored 20 before caught by Muthuswamy. Mayank Agarwal reached his 150 off 294 balls. The explosive right-handed batsman from Karnataka, Agarwal continued to play the merry way and reached his maiden double century off 358 balls. Rahane and Agarwal added 54 runs for the 4th wicket. Both batsmen fell in quick succession to help India end the 2nd session at 450 for 5.
In the third session, Wriddhiman Saha scored a quickfire 21 off 16 balls. Ravindra Jadeja remained not out on 30 off 46 balls. India declared their innings at 502 for 7. With the ball, the spin twin of Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin created havoc.

Ravichandran Ashwin got the breakthrough dismissing Aiden Markram with a beauty of a delivery. Dean Elgar looked solid with his defensive technique and took on Indian spinners. R Ashwin dismissed de Bruyn and Ravindra Jadeja bowled Dane Piedt cheaply. At the end of day 2, South Africa ended on 39 for 3.

South Africa 39 for 3 in 20 overs ( Dean Elgar 27*, Ravichandran Ashwin 2/9) trail India 502 for 7 d in 136 overs ( Mayank Agarwal 215, Rohit Sharma 176, Keshav Maharaj 3/189) by 463 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here