Indian women’s squad for West Indies tour announced

Picture Courtesy: DNA

The BCCI has announced the One day international and T20I squads to tour West Indies starting from November. The Indian team will face West Indies in 3 ODIs in Antigua and then in a five-match T20Is in St Lucia and Guyana.

The Indian Cricket will be led by Harmanpreet Kaur in the T20I format. Currently, India is taking in the five-match T20I series against South Africa at Surat. Now, the Indian eves have a 1-0 lead with the 2nd match was abandoned due to rain. All these matches are preparation for the World T20 2020 to be played in Australia.

The Indian team has a poor record in T20I format this year. With a thrilling 11 run win over South African women in the 1st T20I at Surat, the Indian women’s team would be looking to gain confidence and prove their worth in the shortest format.

In the ODI format, Mithali Raj who retired from T20I cricket will lead the team. The team looks balanced with experienced and young players can do damage on the world stage. Before the West Indies, the Indian team would be playing 3 more T20I matches and then followed by 3 ODI matches at Vadodara.

Sushma Verma is the only addition in the ODI squad. The Indian team would be looking to showcase their talent to the world and be a contender for the World T20 2020.

Here we look at the Indian women’s T20I team
Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Tanyia Bhatia (WK), Poonam Yadav, Veda Krishnamurthy, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Anuja Patil, Pooja Vastrakar, Mansi Joshi, Arundhati Reddy.

India’s ODI squad for West Indies tour
Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Punam Raut, Mithali Raj (C), Harmanpreet Kaur, Deepti Sharma, D Hemalatha, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Mansi Joshi, Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Tanyia Bhatia (WK), Priya Punia, Sushma Verma.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here