Namibia and Jersey register stunning wins on day 5 of ICC Men’s T20 qualifiers 2019

Picture Courstey: Cricketracker

It was an interesting day’s of cricket on the 5th day of ICC Men’s World T20 qualifiers.  2019.  Namibia stunned Scotland and Netherlands registered their successive win in the tournament beating Singapore.
In another upset in the tournament, Jersey stunned United Arab Emirates to register their 2nd win. Two Group A matches took place ICC Academy Ground, Dubai while UAE and Jersey played their match at Tolerance Oval, Abu Dhabi.
Here we look at the results of today’s day play

Group A
Namibia versus Scotland
Namibia side stunned the favourites Scotland by 24 runs in Group A match played at ICC Cricket Academy, Dubai. Namibia captain MG Erasmus won the toss and decided to bat first. The decision did not pay off as they lost an early wicket of Stephen Baard cheaply for 6. N Davin played with aggression and scored a quick fire 23 off 17 balls. Erasmus led from the front and created pressure on Scottish bowling line up. JJ Smit showed his big hitting skills scoring 43 off 22 balls with 1 four and 4 sixes. Smit and Williams put on 52 runs for the 5th wicket. Namibia posted 159 for 6 in 20 overs.

Chasing down the target of 160 runs to win, Scotland lost 2 early wickets of Wallace and Munsey. MacLeod and Berrington steadied the innings adding 48 runs for the 3rd wicket. After the fall of Scotland captain Richie Berrington wicket, Namibia kept picking wickets at regular intervals. Josh Davey and Sharyian Sharif scored some runs but it was not enough for Scotland to win the match. Namibia won the match by 24 runs. Frylinck and C Vilijoen took 2 wickets each, Shikongo, JJ Smit and Scholtz took 1 wicket each. Namibia registered their first win of the tournament.

Netherlands versus Singapore
Netherlands continued their impressive form defeating Singapore by 5 wickets in the 2nd match of Group A played at ICC Cricket Academy, Dubai. Singapore captain Amjad Mahboob won the toss and decided to bat first. Tim David and S Chandramohan put on 35 runs for the first wicket. Despite a solid opening partnership, Netherlands bowlers never allowed Singapore to score runs easily and bowled them out for 101 in 18.5 overs. Rolef Van der Merwe and T Van der Gugten took 3 wickets each, Paul Van Meekeren and Glover took 2 wickets each.

Chasing down the target of 102 runs to win, Netherlands lost 2 quick wickets of Tobias Viese and Ben Cooper. Max O Dowd and Colin Ackerman steadied the innings adding 39 runs for the 3rd wicket. Singapore had reduced Netherlands to 64 for 5 before Ackerman and Van der Merwe added unbeaten 39 runs for the 6th wicket. Netherlands won the match by 5 wickets with 21 balls to spare. Van der Merwe was awarded the man of the match for his all-round performance.

With this win, Netherlands have moved to the top of points table in Group A. Singapore have tasted their first defeat of the tournament.
Group B

Jersey stunned hosts United Arab Emirates by 35 runs to register their 2nd win of the tournament played at Tolerance Oval, Abu Dhabi. Jersey captain Perchard won the toss and decided to bat first. The UAE bowlers kept it tight and never allowed Jersey batsmen to score runs easily. Benjamin Ward played a gem of innings scoring quick fire 47 off 24 balls. Jersey were bowled out for 147. Junaid Siddique was the pick of bowlers for UAE with 2 for 34, Zahoor Khan 2 for 39 and Sultan Ahmed, Rohan Mustafa, Waheed Ahmed and Ahmed Raza took 1 wicket each.

Chasing down the target of 148 runs to win, Chirag Suri and Rohan Mustafa put on 60 runs for the opening wicket. Carlyon got the breakthrough for Jersey getting the wicket of Suri for 27. After fall of Chirag Suri wicket, Jersey kept picking wickets at regular intervals to bowl out UAE for 112. Carlyon and Stevens took 3 wickets each, Perchard 2, Benjamin Ward and Blampied took 1 wicket each. With this win, Jersey moved to 2nd in points table.
Bermuda will take on Namibia, Kenya will face Singapore in Group A matches at ICC Academy Ground NO 2 at Dubai. In Group B, Nigeria will face Oman at Tolerance Oval, Abu Dhabi. Canada will face Ireland at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi and Hong Kong will face Jersey at same ground.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here