New Zealand beat India by 4 wickets in the first ODI in high scoring thriller

Picture Courtsey: Free Press Journal

Thanks to brilliant knocks by Ross Taylor, Tom Latham and Henry Nicholls, New Zealand registered their successful run chases in One day international Cricket beating India by 4 wickets in the first match of the series played at Seddon Park, Hamilton on Wednesday.

New Zealand stand in captain Tom Latham won the toss and decided to field first. India’s new openers Prithvi Shaw and Mayank Agarwal started off to a cautious start against Southee and Hamish Bennett. After the initial overs, both Indian openers looked in great touch. Mayank Agarwal survived a close LBW shout which was given not out and New Zealand decided to review the decision, the decision stood as not out as it was umpires call. Colin de Grandhomme provided breakthrough for Kiwis dismissing Shaw. The Indian openers added 50 runs in 8.1 overs.

In the next over, Tim Southee struck to dismiss Mayank Agarwal. The Indian captain Virat Kohli came to the crease and looked steady. At the end of 10 overs, India were 55 for 2.

After the power play overs, Shreyas Iyer was struggling with his timing. Kohli looked solid as ever with his stroke play and rotated the strike. Iyer was dropped by Ross Taylor and then by Southee. Kohli completed his fifty off 61 balls. Ish Sodhi provided the much-needed breakthrough for New Zealand dismissing Kohli with a googly that went through the gate. Kohli and Iyer added 102 runs for the 3rd wicket.

KL Rahul who came at number 5 looked in great touch hitting Ish Sodhi and Tim Southee for 2 sixes each. Shreyas Iyer reached his fifty off 66 balls. Iyer and Rahul took on the New Zealand bowlers with great hitting which put immense pressure on the hosts. KL Rahul reached his fifty off 41 balls while Iyer reached his maiden ODI century off 101 balls. Tim Southee got the wicket of Iyer for well made 103. Iyer and Rahul added 136 runs for the 4th wicket.

Kedar Jadhav and KL Rahul smashed 20 runs off Tim Southee in 48th over. Rahul played innovative strokes which made life tough for Kiwis bowlers. Jadhav and Rahul added unbeaten runs for the 5th wicket that helped India post 347 for 4 in 50 overs.

It was not an ideal start for Bumrah and Mohammed Shami who gave away extra runs at the start. Henry Nicholls looked confident with his stroke play and was given out, he decided to review it and the decision was overturned. At the end of 10 overs, New Zealand were 54 for 0.

After the power play overs, Nicholls played with positive intent while Guptill struggled with his timing. Shardul Thakur provided the breakthrough for India dismissing Guptill for 32. New Zealand openers added 85 runs in 15.4 overs.

Tom Blundell playing his first ODI match struggled before being dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav. The experienced Ross Taylor was dropped by Kuldeep Yadav when he was on 10. Nicholls reached his fifty off 60 balls. Taylor employed the sweep shot against Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav. When things looked tough for India, Kohli produced a brilliant run out to dismiss Nicholls to end a dangerous 62 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket. Taylor reached his fifty off just 45 balls.

Tom Latham came to the crease and was on 3 off 13 balls before taking the momentum away from India with aggressive stroke play along with Ross Taylor. Both kept the asking run rate in check with boundaries in every over. Latham reached his fifty off just 38 balls. Kuldeep Yadav finally dismissed Latham for well made 69 off 48 balls. Taylor and Latham added 138 runs off just 86 balls. The New Zealand team lost wickets of James Neesham and Colin de Grandhomme which could have resulted in panic.

The experienced Ross Taylor reached his 21st ODI century off 73 balls. Despite losing wickets, Mitchell Santer hit unbeaten 12 off 9 balls. Ross Taylor hit the winning runs and helped New Zealand beat India by 4 wickets with 11 balls to spare.

New Zealand 348 for 6 in 48.1 overs ( Ross Taylor 109*, Henry Nicholls 78, Tom Latham 69, Kuldeep Yadav 2/84, Mohammed Shami 1/63) beat India 347 for 4 in 50 overs ( Shreyas Iyer 103, Rahul 88*, Kohli 51, Tim Southee 2/85, Colin de Grandhomme 1/41) by 4 wickets.

Ross Taylor for his 109 off 84 balls not out was awarded the man of the match. New Zealand takes a 1-0 lead in the 3-match series. The second match will be played on 8th February at Auckland.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here