Pakistan crush Sri Lanka by 263 runs to win the Test series 1-0

Picture Courtsey: The weekly Sports

The Pakistani bowlers picked up 3 wickets without giving a run to win the 2nd Test match by 263 runs on the fifth and final day played at National Stadium, Karachi on Monday. Pakistan earned 60 points in the ICC Test championship points table.

Starting on the overnight score of 212 for 7, Naseem Shah bowled a brilliant bouncer which hit the gloves off Embudlenya. The umpire gave it not out and Pakistan decided to review it. On review, the umpire had to reverse his decision. The centurion Fernando was dismissed in the next over off Yasir Shah bowling for 102. Naseem Shah bowled a beauty to dismiss Vishwa Fernando to pick his maiden 5 wicket haul in Test cricket. Pakistan bowled out Sri Lanka to give them a confidence booster 263 runs win.

Pakistan captain Azhar Ali won the toss and decided to bat first. It was not an ideal start for the hosts as they were bowled out for 191 runs in first innings. Apart from Asad Shafiq and Babar Azam, none of the Pakistani batsmen failed to score runs. Kumara and Emdulenya picked 4 wickets each. In reply Sri Lanka ended the first day on 64 for 3.

On the 2nd day, Sri Lanka batted well with the likes of Dinesh Chandimal, Dhanjaya de Silva, Dickwella, Diluwran Perera contributing to team success. Sri Lanka were bowled out for 271 runs with a lead of 80 runs. Shaheen Shah Afridi and Mohammad Abbas took 9 wickets in the first innings between them.

Shan Masood and Abid Ali gave a flying start scoring 57 for 0 at the end of day 2. The Pakistani openers laid a strong foundation with both playing attacking cricket putting pressure on the Sri Lankan bowlers. Both added 278 runs for opening wicket. Abid Ali was dismissed for a brilliant 174 and Shan Masood scored a brilliant century . Pakistan ended the 3rd day on 395 for 2. Babar Azam and Azhar Ali also scored centuries to help the hosts declare their innings on 555 for 3.

Pakistan 191 in 59.3 overs ( Asad Shafiq 63, Babar Azam 60, Lahiru Kumara 4/49, Lasith Embuldenya 4/71) and 555 for 3 in 131 overs  ( Abid Ali 174, Shan Masood 135, Azhar Ali 118, Babar Azam 100*  , Lahiru Kumara 2/139, Lasith Emudelnya 1/193 ) beat Sri Lanka 271 in 85.5 overs ( Dinesh Chandimal 74, Diluwran Perera 48, Dimuth Karunaratne 25, Mohammad Abbas 4/55, Shaheen Shah Afridi 5/77) and 212 in 62.5 overs ( Fernando 10, Dickwella 65, Naseem Shah 5/31) by 263 runs.

Abid Ali has been the man of the match and series for his brilliance.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here