Performance of Indian stars in Syed Mushtaq Ali Super League Stage day 6

Picture Courtsey: BCCI

In the final day of the Super League stage, many Indian stars took part for their respective state sides.

There were some good performances which stood out and there were some poor performances which might affect them in the upcoming T20I matches against West Indies.

Group A

Haryana versus Maharashtra

Maharashtra defeated Haryana in a closely fought game played at Lalabhai Contractor Stadium, Surat on Wednesday. In this match, Maharashtra captain Rahul Tripathi won the toss and decided to bat first.

In this match, the experienced Kedar Jadhav was dismissed for 0 by Sumit Kumar. Despite his duck, Rahul Tripathi played a captains knock scoring 61. His knock helped Maharashtra post 165 for 7. In the chase, Haryana fell short of the target by just 2 runs.

Tamil Nadu versus Jharkhand

Tamil Nadu qualified for the semi-finals with a crushing 8 wicket win over Jharkhand played at CB Patel International Stadium, Surat. Jharkhand captain Sourabh Tiwary won the toss and decided to bat first.

A superb bowling effort by Tamil Nadu bowlers created enough pressure on Jharkhand batsmen. Washington Sundar was quite impressive with figures of 3/10 in 4 overs. M Siddarth finished with figures of 4 for 18. Tamil Nadu bowled out Jharkhand for 85 in 18.1 overs.

Chasing 86 runs to win, Hari Nishanth and Sharkukh Khan provided a steady start adding 30 runs for the opening wicket. After the fall of Tamil Nadu openers, Washington Sundar 38* off 22 balls helped Tamil Nadu win the match by 8 wickets with 37 balls to spare.

Tamil Nadu finished with same number of points as of Karnataka but due to better net run rate, Tamil Nadu took the top spot.

Group B

Rajasthan versus Delhi

Rajasthan defeated Delhi by 2 runs in a thrilling encounter played at CB Patel International Stadium, Surat.

Rajasthan captain Deepak Chahar won the toss and decided to bat first. The decision did not pay as Manender Narender Singh was dismissed off the first ball. Rajesh Bishnoi was explosive with his stroke play scoring 36 off 33 balls while Lamba contributed 5 runs.

Rajasthan were reduced to 50 for 5. Deepak Chahar came to the crease and played with positive intent scoring 55 off 42 balls with 7 huge sixes to help Rajasthan post 133 for 7.

Chasing 134 runs to win, Risbabh Pant failure in limited overs continued by scoring 30 off 27 balls. He left Delhi in a bad position at 53 for 5. Khaleel Ahmed was superb picking two key wickets of Lalit Yadav and Subodh Bhati to help Rajasthan win the match by 2 runs. Khaleel Ahmed, Aniket Chaudhary and Rahul Chahar took 2 wickets each. Arjit Gupta was pick of bowlers with 3 for 12.

Punjab versus Mumbai

Mumbai defeated Punjab in a high scoring thriller played at Lalabhai Contractor Stadium, Surat. Punjab captain Mandeep Singh won the toss and decided to field. The decision did not pay off as Prithivi Shaw and Aditya Tare provided a flying start adding 71 runs for opening wicket. Shaw continued his superb form with a quick fire 53 off 27 balls.

Shreyas Iyer and Surya Kumar Yadav plundered the Punjab bowlers to all parts of the ground. Both added 140 runs for the 3rd wicket in quick time. Surya scored 80 off 35 balls. Shreyas Iyer played all around the ground and blasted 80 off 40 balls. Mumbai posted a massive total of 243 for 3.

Chasing a massive total of 244 runs to win, Shubman Gill and Abishek Sharma was explosive with their stroke play in the first six overs. Both added 84 runs for the 1st wicket in 7.4 overs. Shubam Ranjane dismissed Sharma for 47 off 26 balls. Gill and Mann took attack to Mumbai bowlers putting on 70 runs for the 2nd wicket. Despite that effort, Punjab scored 221 for 6. Mumbai needed to restrict Punjab for Under 150 or less to qualify for the semi-finals.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here