Steve Smith and David Warner makes a return to T20I squad to face Sri Lanka and Pakistan

Picture Courtsey:

Keeping in the mind of World 2020 to be played in Australia, Steve Smith, David Warner makes a comeback in T20I squad to face Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

The team will be captained by Aaron Finch. Steve Smith will be making a comeback in T20I format after March 2016. He would be looking to continue his superb in upcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka and then against Pakistan.

Smith returned back to Test back after a one year suspension. He was the leading runs scorer in the recently concluded 2019 Ashes series where he scored 774 runs and helped Australia retain the Ashes. Warner played his last T20I match against NZ in 2018 and would be looking to impress after coming back from ball tampering scandal in March 2018.

Australia will start the home season against Sri Lanka in 3 match T20I series starting from 27th October at Adelaide. The 2nd T20I would be played at Brisbane on 30th and final T20I to be played at Melbourne on 1st November 2019.
After completing the 3 T20I match series against Sri Lanka, Australia will take on number 1 ranked T20I series against Pakistan. The first T20I match would be played on 3rd November at Sydney, 5th November at Canberra and final T20I match at Perth on 8th November 2019.
Warner was in superb form during the 2019 edition of IPL with 647 runs for Sunrisers Hyderabad. In the 2019 World Cup played in England, the explosive left-handed batsman scored 647 runs and helped Australia reach the semi-finals.

The fast bowling unit looks strong with likes of Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Kane Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Andrew Tye. Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar and Glenn Maxwell are the spin bowling options.

The Australian selectors have dropped Marcus Stoinis. Ashton Turner has been included in 14 man squad ahead of Nathan Lyon. Glenn Maxwell has been included in squad.

“We’re delighted to welcome Smith and Warner back … Steve is a world-class batsman in all formats while Warner is Australia’s highest ever T20I runs-scorer.”

Here we look at the Australian T20I squad to play matches against Sri Lanka and Pakistan
Aaron Finch (C), David Warner, Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Ashton Agar.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here