This Day That year: England won their maiden ICC title

Picture Courtsey: Sky Sports

The England Cricket Team created history as they won their maiden ICC title defeating Australia in the finals of the 2010 ICC World T20 played at Kennington Oval, Barbados on 16th May.

England captain Paul Collingwood won the toss and decided to field first. The decision paid off as they reduced Australia in tatters at 8 for 3.  The England bowlers kept it tight and did not allow the Australian batsmen to score runs easily. At the end of six overs, Australia were 24 for 3.

After the power play overs, Australian captain Michael Clarke and David Hussey tried to steady the innings. As things were looking good for Australia, Graeme Swann got the breakthrough dismissing Clarke. Clarke and Hussey added 37 runs for the 4th wicket. Australia breached the 50-run mark in the 11th over.

Cameron White came to the crease and looked in aggressive touch putting pressure on the England bowlers. David Hussey looked composed with his stroke play and hit boundaries on bad balls. White and Hussey added 50 runs for the 5th wicket. David Hussey completed his fifty off 49 balls. Mike Hussey contributed a quickfire 17 not out of 10 balls. David was dismissed for well made 59 off 54 balls. Australia posted 147 for 6 in 20 overs which looked below par. For England, Ryan Sidebottom was the pick of bowlers with 2 for 26, Graeme Swann 1 for 17, Luke Wright 1 for 5, and 2 were run-outs.

Chasing 148 runs to win, it was not an ideal start for England as they lost an early wicket of Michael Lumb for 2. Kevin Pietersen came to the crease and looked aggressive right from word go. On the other hand, Craig Kieswetter made batting look comfortable. At the end of six overs, England were 41 for 1.

After the power play overs, both batsmen continued to milk the Australian bowlers and hit boundaries. As England went close to the target, Steve Smith got rid of Pietersen for 47 off 31 balls. Kieswetter and Pietersen added 111 runs for the 2nd wicket.

Kieswetter completed his fifty off 40 balls and helped England inch closer. Mitchell Johnson dismissed Kieswetter for well made 63 off 47 balls. With 27 runs required to win, Eoin Morgan and Paul Collingwood did the job as they won the match by 7 wickets 18 balls to spare. With this win, England won their maiden World T20 title on a global stage. For superb knock at the top of the order, Craig Kieswetter was awarded the man of the match.

The journey of England in World T20 2010

England was placed with West Indies and Ireland in Group D. Their campaign did not start well as they lost to West Indies by 8 wickets via the DLS method. The match was played at Providence Stadium, Guyana on 3rd May.

Thanks to Eoin Morgan 55 off 35 balls, Luke Wright 45* off 27 balls, Lumb 28, Kieswetter 26, and Kevin Pietersen 24 helped England post 191 for 5. With West Indies at 60 for 2 in 5.5 overs. Due to persistent rains, the match was called off. West Indies won the match by 8 wickets via the DLS method with 1 ball remaining.

The match between England and Ireland played at Providence Stadium, Guyana on 4th May was abandoned due to rain. It was a disappointing batting performance by England as they posted just 120 for 8 in 20 overs. Eoin Morgan was the top scorer with 45. In reply, Ireland was 14 for 1 and rain was downpouring. Both England and Ireland registered 1 point each. Due to a better run rate, England qualified for the Super 8.

The England Cricket Team showed their class as they defeated Pakistan by 6 wickets in the first Super 8 Game played at Kensington Oval, Barbados on 6th May. After restricting Pakistan to 147 for 9, Kevin Pietersen 73* off 52 balls helped England register a comfortable 6 wicket win with 3 balls to spare.

England won their 2nd Super 8 match against South Africa played at Kensington Oval, Barbados on 8th May 2010. Thanks to Kevin Pietersen 53 off 33 balls and Kieswetter 41, England posted 168 for 7 in 20 overs. England bowled out South Africa for 129 to give a comfortable 39 run.

The 3rd Super 8 match against New Zealand at Gros Islet, St Lucia on 10th May was a closely fought affair. New Zealand scored 149 for 6 at the end of 20 overs. Chasing 150 runs to win, Kieswetter 32, Eoin Morgan 40, Luke Wright 24, and Tim Bresnan 23 off 11 balls helped England register a 3 wicket win with 5 balls to spare. With 3 wins out of 3, England qualified for the semi-finals.

Paul Collingwood led side continued their winning streak as they defeated Sri Lanka by 7 wickets in the first semi-finals played at Gros Islet, St Lucia on 13th May. A disciplined bowling effort by England bowlers restricted Sri Lanka to 128 for 6 in 20 overs. Angelo Mathews was the top scorer for Sri Lanka with 58.

Chasing 129 runs to win, Craig Kieswetter and Lumb provided a superb start adding 68 runs. Kevin Pietersen remained not out on 42 to help England register a 7 wicket win with 24 balls to spare.

Kevin Pietersen was awarded the man of the series award for his 248 runs in the competition. This was the first ICC title won by England.






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here