All you need to know about the 2020 ICC Women’s World T20

Picture Courtsey: ICC

The 7th edition of the ICC Women’s World Cup will begin from 21st February and end on 8th of March 2020. It will be biggest tournament in Women’s cricket as it will be stand alone.

Group A comprises of defending Champions Australia, India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka. Bangladesh qualified for the tournament by reaching the top 2 of ICC Women’s qualifiers held last year. In Group B, runners up of 2018 edition England, West Indies, South Africa, Pakistan and first-time qualifiers Thailand.

It promises to be a mouth-watering series with plenty of big hitters in each team which included Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Gardner, Sophie Devine and other top players in the World. The Group Matches will be played at Manuka Oval, Canberra, Junction Oval, Melbourne, Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney, WACA Stadium, Perth.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals. The semi-finals will be played at Sydney Cricket Ground on 5th March and the finals to be played on 8th March at iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground, MCG.

Australia and India will face other in the opening match of the day to be played on 21st February at Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney. Each team will play other once in a round robin league.

The first Women’s World Cup was held in 2009 and since there have been 6 editions of the tournament.

Australia have taken part in all editions and won four times in 2010, 2012, 2014. Under the captaincy of Meg Lanning, Australia won the 2018 edition played in West Indies defeating England. They have played 32 matches, winning 24, losing 7 and tie 1.

England has taken part in six editions too and won the title once in 2009. They have played 29 matches in Women’s World Cup winning 21, losing 7 and tie once with win percentage of 74.13.

West Indies played in all six editions winning the title in 2016 beating Australia at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. They have played 27 matches, winning 17 and losing 10.

New Zealand finished runners in the 2009 and 2010 edition. They too have taken part in all six editions. White Ferns featured in 28 matches winning 20 and losing just 8.

The Indian Cricket Team have reached the semi-finals thrice in 2009, 2010 and 2018. They have featured in 26 World Cup matches winning 13 and losing 13 with win percentage of 50.

South Africa reached the semi-finals of the 2018 edition played in West Indies. They have played so far 23 matches winning just 8 and losing 15.

Sri Lanka and Pakistan in all six editions but failed to go beyond the group stage. Sri Lanka played 23 matches winning 7 and losing 16.

Pakistan featured in 24 matches, winning just 6 and losing 18. Bangladesh and Ireland have featured in 3 World Cups and have a poor record.






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here