Indian Squad for the Under 19 World Cup announced

Picture Courtsey: News

The BCCI Junior selection have announced its 15-member squad for the Under 19 World Cup to be played in South Africa from 17th January to 9th February 2020.

Priyam Garg who has played first class Cricket in domestic cricket will lead the Indian side in the prestigious tournament.  Yaishwal Jaiswal who became the youngest player to score list A cricket in September- October and was the leading run getter for Mumbai in the 2019 Vijay Hazare Trophy season. In total, he made 564 runs with 3 centuries and fifty.

Dhurv Jurel has been named as the vice-captain of the Team. He would the wicket-keeper for Indian team during this tournament. Kush Kushagra would be second wicket-keeper during the World Cup.

The spin bowling department looks strong as Atharva Ankolekar who led India to a stunning victory over Bangladesh in Under Asia Cup picking up 5 for 26, defending just 106 runs. It has the experience and youth to handle the pressure in South African conditions.

Before the Under 19 World Cup begins, the Indian Under 19 will take part in the 3-match series against South Africa and then quadrangular series featuring South Africa, New Zealand and Zimbabwe.

The Indian team has been clubbed with New Zealand, Sri Lanka and first-time qualifiers Japan in Group A. They will start their tournament against Sri Lanka on 19th January, followed by 21st against Japan and final group match on 24th January. The top two teams in each pool will qualify for the quarterfinals.

Under the leadership of Prithvi Shaw, the Indian team won the Under 19 World Cup played in Australia in 2018. This will be 13th edition of prestigious tournament with India winning the title on four occasions including the last one.

Here we look at the Under 19 squad for World Cup and Quadrangular series

Priyam Garg (C), Dhruv Jurel ( VC and WK), Yashavi Jaiswal, Tilak Verma, Divyyansh Saxena, Shaswat Rawat, Divyansh Joshi, Shubhang Hedge, Ravi Bishnoi, Akash Singh, Karthik Tyagi, Atharva Ankolekar, Kumar Kushagra  ( WK), Sushant Mishra, Vidyadhar Patil, CTL Rakshan.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here