India’s schedule for World Test Championship 2019-21

Picture Courtesy:

The number 1 Test team in the world, India will start its World Test Championship journey with a 2 match Test series against West Indies starting from 22nd August. In the World Test Championships, the top nine nations will play 6 series including 3 away and 3 home. With the top two teams with maximum points would take on each other in the finals of 1st edition of World Test Championships at Lords on 10th June 2021.

Under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, the Indian Cricket Team created history by becoming the 1st Asian Team to beat Australia in Australia. A team can earn a total of 120 points in the series during ICC Test Championships.

Sri Lanka earned 60 points by winning the 1st Test match against New Zealand at Galle. In the 2 matches of Ashes 2019, Australia scored 24 points with a resounding win over hosts England in the 1st Test at Edgbaston, Birmingham. Both Australia and England were awarded eight points for a thrilling draw in 2nd Test match at Lords.

The Indian Team will be looking for a winning start by winning the 2 match Test series against West Indies starting from 22nd August at Sir Vivan Richards Stadium, Antigua. The teams will move to Sabina Park, Jamaica for the 2nd Test from 30th August.

India will take on South Africa in the 3 match Test series at home starting from 2nd October. The first Test match would be played at Vizag. The next two Test matches will be played at Pune from 10th and final Test match at Ranchi from 19th October.

The home season for India continues as they take on Bangladesh in two match Test series starting from 14th November. They will play the first Test match at Holkar Stadium, Indore which will be followed by 2nd Test at Eden Garden’s, Kolkata from 22nd November.

India’s biggest overseas challenge awaits when they take on New Zealand in a 2 match Test series starting from 21st February 2020. They will play the 1st Test match at Basin Reserve, Wellington, followed by 2nd Test at Hagley Oval, Christchurch from 29th February.

Under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, the Indian team will look to retain the Border- Gavaskar Trophy as they take on Australia in Australia for a 4 match Test series. The schedule for the series is yet to be announced.

In January 2020-March 2021, India will host England for a 5 match Test series. The Indian team will look to make maximum points from home games and win overseas Test series in New Zealand and Australia.

India’s schedule for ICC World Test Championship 2019-2021

  1. India versus West Indies (2 Test matches, away)- 22nd August-3rd September
  2. India versus South Africa (3 Test matches, home)- 2nd October- 23rd October
  3. India versus Bangladesh (2 Test matches, home)- 14th November- 26th November
  4. India versus New Zealand (2 Test matches, away)- 21st February 2020-4th March 2020
  5. India versus Australia (4 Test matches, away)- Schedule not announced
  6. India versus England (5 Test matches, home)- Schedule not announced.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here